About The Land Beneath Us

Via Amazon.com

In 1943, Private Clay Paxton trains hard with the US Army Rangers at Camp Forrest, Tennessee, determined to do his best in the upcoming Allied invasion of France. With his future stolen by his brothers’ betrayal, Clay has only one thing to live for–fulfilling the recurring dream of his death.

Leah Jones works as a librarian at Camp Forrest, longing to rise above her orphanage upbringing and belong to the community, even as she uses her spare time to search for her real family–the baby sisters she was separated from so long ago.

After Clay saves Leah’s life from a brutal attack, he saves her virtue with a marriage of convenience. When he ships out to train in England for D-day, their letters bind them together over the distance. But can a love strong enough to overcome death grow between them before Clay’s recurring dream comes true?

My Review

The great thing about getting approved to read/review book 3 in a series is that I can completely binge-read the entire series all at once, without waiting for the next book to come out before I find out what happens.

Sarah Sundin does an incredible job both with this book and the series as a whole. She took 3 brothers and put them in 3 branches of the US military, all called to Europe around D-Day. It’s crazy, all the little details that came together! I honestly don’t know how she did it, and feel this series really exemplifies her talents as a writer. The amount of history included is remarkable as ever, and character development remains spot on as well.

A few plot developments gave me pause at first; I feared they’d lead an excellent series thus far into “been there, done that” predictability (and couldn’t we keep up with the heretofore originality?). Thankfully, Sundin proved me wrong and my concerns baseless.

I loved how she brought everything together for the characters both in this book and from previous ones. An admirable finish to an incredible series, showcasing the power of forgiveness and an even more powerful God.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley. All opinions are my own.

About the Author

Via Amazon.com

Sarah Sundin is the author of The Sea Before Us and The Sky Above Us, as well as the Waves of Freedom, Wings of the Nightingale, and Wings of Glory series. Her novels have received starred reviews from BooklistLibrary Journal, and Publishers Weekly. Her popular Through Waters Deep was a Carol Award finalist, and both Through Waters Deep and When Tides Turn were named on Booklist‘s “101 Best Romance Novels of the Last 10 Years.” Sarah lives in Northern California. Visit www.sarahsundin.com for more information.